2021 Standing Committees

If you are interested in joining a committee, please contact the Palm Beach County Medical Society at 561-433-3940

Council on Advocacy & Legislation Co-Chair’s: Kleper de Almeida, MD and Krishna Kishor, MD
The Council on Legislation shall review proposed laws and rules pertaining to medicine and taking action to support or oppose issues that affect the organization and profession, work with the FMA to coordinate legislative activities, maintain and promote close relationships with elected officials, keep members informed with regard to legislation which may or will possibly affect the practice of medicine. 

Council on Communications & Technology Co-Chair’s: James Heron, MD and Marc Hirsh, MD
The Council on Communications and Technology shall handle communications to targeted audiences including members, prospects, allied organizations, government, and the public; establish and maintain cooperation with communications media; develop programs to enhance adequate understanding between medical profession and the public; advise and coordinate editorial activities of On Call, the society’s official journal; oversight of web site, social marketing.

Council on Ethical and Judicial Affairs Co-Chair: Faustino Gonzalez, MD
The Council on Ethical and Judicial Affairs shall Investigate general or specific professional conditions and matters relating to the relations of physicians to one another, arbitrate matters between physicians and the public, resolve disputes between members of the Medical Society, direct and supervise activities of the Medical Society which pertain to educational programs and questions of medical ethics.

Council on Finance & Administration Chair Andrew Berkman, MD
The Council on Finance and Administration coordinates the board’s financial oversight responsibilities by recommending policy to the board, monitors financial records and reports, reviews annual budget, and recommends it to the board for approval. The council also reviews Human Resource policies and makes recommendations to the Board of Directors. The treasurer will serve as chair of the Council.

Council on Medical Education Co-Chair’s: Ramon L. Cuevas-Trisan, MD and Henry M. Haire, MD
The Council on Medical Education shall be comprised of physician representation of Palm Beach County medical education programs. The purpose of the council is to develop and implement strategies of medical education programs in Palm Beach County. 

Council on Member Services Co-Chair’s: Colette Brown-Graham, MD and Ekaterina Kostioukhina, MD
Provides oversight to all membership sections. Review future members’ applications, conduct new members and membership retention campaigns, review and recommend membership categories and dues structure, coordinate tangible and intangible benefits, review membership. 

Physician Inclusiveness Co-Chair’s: Catherine Lowe, MD and Harish Madhav, MD
The purpose is to increase the medical society’s appreciation for diversity, and cultural competence. The goal is for us to value and seek out new voices, faces, and perspectives on medical care in our community.

Committee on Bylaws Chair: Jack Zeltzer, MD
The Committee on Bylaws shall review and maintain the governing documents of the organization, recommend proposed changes when necessary.

PBCMS Services Liaison Michael Dennis, MD
The responsibility of the Services Liaison is to ensure effective communication and cooperation between PBCMS Board of Directors and PBCMS Services Board of Directors. 

FMA/AMA Liaison Alan B. Pillersdorf, MD

The responsibility of the FMA/AMA Liaison is to ensure effective communication and cooperation between PBCMS, the FMA and the AMA. 

Women’s Physician Section Chair: Martha Rodriguez, MD

The Women’s Physician Section shall encourage and assist women physicians to become more active in the society and address particular issues and opportunities faced by women physicians in both professional and personal settings.  

MEDPAC Chair: Stephen Babic, MD

The responsibilities of the MEDPAC Liaison are to ensure effective communication between MEDPAC and Palm Beach County Medical Society Board of Directors. 

Physician Wellness Task Force Chair: Shawn B. Baca, MD

The purpose of the Physician Wellness Task Force is to create a safe harbor for physicians to obtain care, avoid burnout, achieve work-life balance and an improved quality of life. 

Retired Physicians Section David Shulan, MD

The purpose of the retired physician section is to provide education and socialization for retired and semi-retired physicians.